Re: Bogus Reviews/Online Harassment/Cyberstalking

So I really hate discussing this publicly and this will probably be the last time I plan to do so, but a trusted buddy thought it’d be best that I set the record straight on some nonsense.

For a few months now, I’ve been getting harassed online by some racist psychotic trolls who have been spewing whatever bile they can to discredit me and my novel, Hollowstone. And by harassment I mean everything from libel to personal threats.

They’ve resorted to leaving bogus one-star reviews on several websites including Amazon and have gone so low as to pull the “Big Scary Black Man OH NOES” trope.

Now some idiot apparently used my name and gave me a glowing review to make it look like as if I sockpuppeted myself. Really? Really? And you honestly think people would be that stupid to fall for it and think that was me? Really? Really?

I’ve contacted Amazon and apprised them of the situation because this is just getting ridiculous.

However more than that, these cowards also been harassing and personally threatening friends and loved ones simply because they’re friends with me.

Why are they doing this? Unfortunately some people don’t like a black man being outspoken about bigotry against women, people of color, LGBTQs, and other marginalized people in our society. And this type of hatred proves that we DO NOT live in a post-racial society.

On top of that, in the minds of some white fangirls, speaking out and saying that writing offensive m/m slash gay fic novels where gay men are degraded, brutalized, and raped is not cool = MASSAGANEE AND MALE AHPARESSION FROM THE BIG SCARY NEGRO SAVAGE!!!!!

And answer me this. If these losers REALLY thought I was such a raging misogynist, why in the blue hell would they buy my novel, put money in my pocket, support me, read my novel and then write a scathing review? What kind of logic is that?

These are cowards who hide behind fake internet handles and spew whatever bile they can because the truth is, they have nothing else going in their lives.

I had hoped the trolls had moved on at this point, but it’s just getting ridiculous. And unfortunately, this type of behavior has become the norm.

There’s another situation where a black woman, a wife and a mother, has been stalked in real life by these same kind of trolls.

We’re talking about people getting death threats here, people. And I don’t care how you feel about someone or what you think about them. You don’t like me, that’s fine. I don’t care. You’re entitled to your opinion. But I don’t care how “justified” you feel. When you’re taking your vendetta crusade to THAT LEVEL, your arguments, reasons, and excuses have become invalid. And if you’re supporting others in this type of harassment, you’re also part of the problem. Because it’s all fun and games until someone gets killed. And while I pray it doesn’t come to that, I fear it’s only a matter of time before it happens. And sadly a lot of people reading this, couldn’t care less.

To the trolls: I’ve been silent because quite frankly, you all aren’t worth my time. And your antics have proven my point better than I hoped. If I’m the bad guy in this piece, then why are you acting like the villains?

You can spew whatever lies you like. Because while you’re spending that much time and energy on me, I’m not giving you another thought. When it’s all said and done, I still released a great novel from an excellent publisher, I’m making money, I’m doing what I love and this is only the beginning. I’m going to continue to write, I’m going to continue to get published (I’ve got a few projects lined up right now), I’m going to continue to work hard and I’m going to do me. You can only scream fire for so long before the few people who are listening stop. And I think you know this, which is why you’re getting desperate.

And when it’s all said and done, when you log off the internet you’re still going to be miserable I’m still going to be proudly standing tall.

And now I’m done. I’ve wasted enough bandwith on you fools. I’m about to expend my time and energy on things that actually matter.

By Dennis R. Upkins