Norwescon 2012 Report

“A complete stranger has the capacity to alter the life of another irrevocably. This domino effect has the capacity to change the course of an entire world. That is what life is; a chain reaction of individuals colliding with others and influencing their lives without realizing it. A decision that seems miniscule to you, may be monumental to the fate of the world.” -J.D. Stroube

Norwescon couldn’t have been a bigger success for me. I met so many amazing people, networked, and had some really moving and excellent discussions on the panels.

I was blessed to be placed on many of the minority and social justice panels and I got to hear some incredible stories from fellow POCs and LGBTQs. Conversations with both panelists and members of the audience reminded me that we still have our work cut out for us but at the same time some progress has been made. More than a few of the panels were either full or standing room only.

And apparently I was a hit because several people came up to me after the panel and thanked me and wanted to get my info which was both humbling and kinda awesome.

In fact I had one member of the audience tell me that typically young adult and paranormal isn’t her cup of tea but after hearing me speak, she was sold and bought a copy of Hollowstone.

Speaking of which, I’m happy to announce that I sold all of my copies of Hollowstone. Flawless victory is flawless.

And finally, I got to meet some of my awesome Motley Crewmates: [info]loree[info]jeliza[info]drakemonger[info]gement and many other LJ peeps including one [info]lisamantchev who was an absolute hoot on the panels and during the book signings. It was also at the booksignings I had the pleasure of meeting author Satyros Phil Brucato.

And of course no trip to Seattle would be complete without an evening out with longtime peeps Cherie Priest and Aric. We hung in the bar and I also had the pleasure of meeting Shanna Germain, Mary Robinette Kowal, Stina Leicht, Keffy and others. An excellent night indeed.

There were many other awesome peeps who I had the pleasure of meeting, too many to list and I will forget someone. But overall, this trip is hands down one of the highlights of 2012 and I’m so glad I attended and was truly honored to be invited.

Thank you Norwescon. You know it’s amazing how one book has already opened up so many opportunities for me and I’m just getting started. If this is a sign of things to come, then I’m more than excited and I’m ready.

After my last panel, an aspiring writer who had been at my other panels came up to me afterwards and thanked me for speaking out on diversity and told me that I had inspired her to reflect on her novel and she decided she needed to include POCs in the main cast. All because of what I had to share.

Not gonna lie….that was kinda awesome.

Oh yes, Darth Vader overstepped his bounds and tried to step to yours truly. He didn’t realize he didn’t have the midichlorians to step to this. Had to lay down the force on Anakin’s candy ass.

Ani are you okay? Are you okay?

 

 

[info]lisamantchev and yours truly.

Me with a new fan.

A table of writers.

Hawt resident evil guy who reminds me of Will for some reason.

2 comments on “Norwescon 2012 Report

  1. That pic of you with Darth Vader….droooooooooooool. Also, I’m jealous.

    Norwescon looked like it was a blast!!! I love how you’re doing your thang,

Comments are closed.