Nubian Heroines: A Tribute

tumblr_lfjscxHS7l1qabus4o1_1280 Now I KNOW you all didn’t think I was done celebrating all things black geekery just because February is over. In this special post, I want to show some love and celebrate a very special group that is close to my heart: black women. It’s no secret that characters of color, well people of color in general (artists, authors, actors, etc.) are regularly on the receiving end of the worst kind of racist and misogynistic denigration. Anyone who has participated in fandom knows the type of disgusting hatred that the characters and the actresses who portray Tara from True Blood, Guinevere from Merlin and Dr. Martha Jones from Doctor Who regularly receives. And there’s a reason for that. Beautiful, sexy, intelligent, extraordinary, these goddesses are feared and despised because of the power they wield. Society constantly attacks black women because of the phenomenal light that they shine. So this post is not only a celebration of the nubian heroines who made me proud to call them my sisters but black women, period. This post is a tribute featuring a few of my favorite black female characters and actresses who brought the awesome back to fandom. This is also my way of saying thank you to all of the phenomenal nubian goddesses who have blessed and enriched my life over the years. To all of my black women, this one’s for you:

8 comments on “Nubian Heroines: A Tribute

  1. Pingback: Nubian Heroines: A Tribute | Ars Marginal

  2. i know who maybe half of these are…
    those i know are awesome. anyone able to name them all, for those of us who don’t know them all? [i don’t watch TV, so unless i’m interested in something enough to get the DVDs or find on NetFlix…]

  3. i know who maybe half of these are…
    those i know are awesome. anyone able to name them all, for those of us who don’t know them all? [i don’t watch TV, so unless i’m interested in something enough to get the DVDs or find on NetFlix…]

  4. I have a tiny confession to make. When Merlin first premiered, I was like, “huh, Gwen’s a black girl? Wasn’t she blonde in the myths?” Then I thought about how absolutely goddamn racist that was of me and realised what I should have known from the get-go – that making Gwen black didn’t take anything away from her character (durrrrrrrrrr!), and that Angel Coulby is freaking awesome.

    Anyway, this post gave me all kinds of happy feels. It’s great to see black women celebrated not just for being strong female characters, but for being strong, positive black characters.

Comments are closed.