Remembering Lee Thompson Young

 

lee-thompson-young-lg

As most of you heard, actor Lee Thompson Young tragically took his life last week.  Young was perhaps best known for his role as the titular protagonist in Disney’s the Famous Jett Jackson. Some of his other credits include Friday Night Lights, Akeelah & The Bee, Smallville, Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles and Rizzoli and Isles.

I grew up watching Young on The Famous Jett Jackson. That was more than a tv show. It was one of the few shows that gave me a black protagonist with respect. That show taught me as a black kid that I could be the star of my own story and not the token sidekick to a white person’s. He, along with Storm, were instrumental in helping me gain pride and striving to be a powerful black man.

I kept up with Young over the years and I always noted how he always carried himself with class and style. That brother stayed looking flawless. I mean he was fine. When my book Hollowstone was released, I did a dreamcasting and gave him the role of Noah Scott, the main protagonist.

Just last month a friend of mine took his life so the timing of this……

There’s no telling what pain Young was in and he did what he thought he needed to do. No judgement no shade. Just my thanks for sharing his gift and inspiring me and countless others. Wherever he is, I hope he’s found peace.

And this world just got darker.

3 comments on “Remembering Lee Thompson Young

  1. It was one of the few shows that gave me a black protagonist with respect. That show taught me as a black kid that I could be the star of my own story and not the token sidekick to a white person’s. He, along with Storm, were instrumental in helping me gain pride and striving to be a powerful black man.

    You’re gonna make me cry, boo….

Comments are closed.