Freedom Fighter

In the age of #BlackLivesMatter and the Trump administration, bigotry and institutional oppression have been front burner topics more than ever before on social media and in 3D-space.

Needless to say freedom fighters such as myself are speaking our truths and shining light on the darkness that is racism and other forms of bigotry.

Unfortunately when you tell the truth and shame the devil, the devil will move heaven and hell to try to silence you.

It’s no secret that racism is rampant in many cosplay circles. To even bring up the discussion brings out the worst in many. Such was the case with cosplay photographer and certifiable douchebag Jonathan Mashburn.

It was December of 2016. For the first time in my life, I had been hospitalized for a potentially life-threatening ailment. While recuperating, and being attended to by a hunky nurse named Kyle, I decided to check my social media and shared an article about a racist post that had gone viral.

1

 

Mashburn was not happy about me exercising my first amendment on my social media page.

 

2

 

While reading Mashburn’s racist comments my blood pressure must’ve spiked as Kyle noted.

“Your blood pressure is pretty high?” he said. “Are you in pain?”

“No but someone is about to be,” I mumbled under my breath.  “Let me move this IV out the way. Someone is about to get his ass kicked.”

“You sure you’re not in pain?”  Kyle asked.

“Yeah I’m good,” I replied. “I’m going to read some. I’m sure that’ll help bring it down.”

“Good idea,” Kyle said. “What are you planning to read?”

“A cosplay photographer who picked the wrong day to test me.”

I waited for Kyle to finish up. After the hunky nurse made his exit, I made a mental note to see if I could later con him into providing me with a sponge bath.

And then it was time to switch into Midnighter mode. Not only Midnighter but I was going to light Mashburn up so badly for his racist remarks I was also going to be known as fellow DC superhero, The Ray.

16602872_10211311550319733_3382135777895535560_n

3

 

Midnighter #7 (2016) - Page 11

 

4

grayson-6-midnighter

 

5

17458227_10211720704628335_139448072154435515_n

6

midnighter-72

 

7

6883583fdc7cad2d616276534aea8a5a

8

Raydcu0-1470938072

9

finger 1

Mashburn flounced like a scalded dog. I do love it when the garbage takes itself out.

running-away-fast-gif

The moral here? To paraphrase a great woman:

Compromise where you can. And where you can’t, don’t. Even if everyone is telling you that something wrong is something right, even if the whole world is telling you to move. It is your duty to plant yourself like a tree, look them in the eye and say, no. You move.

Unless it’s the Dora Milaje.

dora-milaje-117843

If Black Excellence personified informs you to move or you will be moved, then make like Ludacris and get out the way.

 

e08dedb7cb1fd20228be6218a36628fc

One comment on “Freedom Fighter

Comments are closed.