Celebrating Black Speculative Fiction Month

100_8883

My very good friend Boston Pobble (who recently celebrated a birthday, happy birthday again by the by) were discussing a myriad of topics. We both discussed how neither of us believe in “mere coincidence,” and there’s usually a purpose or plan to things.

Case in point. I love October. Weather begins to change, I adore Autumn. The new television lineup premieres (though these days, not many shows I care for). Halloween is one of my two favorite holidays. Christmas being the other and yes Tim Burton’s The Nightmare Before Christmas is my favorite holiday movie. Halloween has always been a more spiritual holiday for me than I imagine it is for many folks for a number of personal reasons.

But that’s not all.

This weekend I will be appearing at Akai Con and I will be back at GMX on Nov. 1.

This October marks the first year of Black Speculative Fiction Month, and I for one am I immensely excited about this. Because if you thought I geeked out in February when I celebrated being a black nerd for Black History Month, consider that the practice run.

But I’m also excited for this month because coming very soon is my sophomore title, West of Sunset. Where I’ll be introducing the world to one Brecken Everett. A young black gay wizard detective who has a tendency to do his best work when the deck is stacked against him.

West of Sunset is a pretty fast-paced and thankfully not as intense as Hollowstone. Don’t get me wrong, I’m proud of my first book but tackling some of the subject matter nearly drove me to drink. West of Sunset is fun and adventure. We’re talking black gay wizard detectives, witchy heroines and vampire biker gangs all during a vacation in Los Angeles.

Some would call all of this coincidence, I would call it providence.  😉

Needless to say, this October is going to rock.


One thought on “Celebrating Black Speculative Fiction Month

Comments are closed.